Return with Curry

I know it’s been an incredibly long time since I posted. There is a whole host of reasons which involve 1+ jobs, going to Morocco, work trips, and buying our first home. But more on that later.

Of course, my first post back is neither library, grants, or higher education related. It’s about curry.

Disclaimer: I am mostly posting this for myself.

I am not a very good cook. My husband does most of the cooking around the house although I do pick up the slack when it comes to baking.

My problem is that I (in the red hair and in the kitchen) am like Anne of Green Gables — I am very easily distracted from cooking. I don’t like standing in the kitchen while vegetables saute. In fact, right now I am running back and forth between writing this and cooking beans and bell peppers on the stove!

So I am not the first choice in our house to cook a meal. But the husband has been working more late hours recently which means I am trying to pick up the slack at home.

Last night was a late brew night for him so I made red Thai curry. I have sous-chefed with this recipe with him  and knew it involved coconut milk, red bell pepper, and bamboo shoots….and that’s about it.

I searched online but couldn’t find the original recipe I knew we used — the link was now a 404. So I begged the husband via text message (while he was busy at work) to send me the recipe he “created” based off the of the online one. After some cajoling he emailed me his process.

So I am sharing it here; mostly selfishly so that I can refer to it later but also because it is really good and you should cook it too.

Curry

 

Ingredients
1 onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 TBSP fresh ginger, minced
3 TBSP vegetable oil
2 TBSP curry paste
1 red bell, julienne
1/2 can (small) bamboo shoots, drained, rough chopped
Snow peas, rough chopped
1 package tofu, large cubes ~1″
3 TBSP cilantro
1 TBSP basil, torn
Lime juice (half lime)
2 cans coconut milk (I use 1 full fat, 1 low fat)
1/2 – 3/4 can water
2 TBSP fish sauce
2 TBSP brown sugar
1.5 cups dry rice

1. Make rice (1.5 cups rice and 3 cups water; bring to a boil, then simmer until water is cooked out). 2. Cook tofu cubes: heat light amount of vegetable oil in non stick and crisp tofu over med-hi on each side. Do not crowd.
3. In large pot add 3 tbsp vegetable oil over high
4. Add onion, ginger, and garlic and saute until onions are soft ~ 7 minutes
5. Add curry paste, stir to combine
6. Add coconut milk, water, fish sauce, and brown sugar and stir to combine,
7. Bring to a light boil then simmer 20 minutes with lid partially off
8. Strain liquid into a large bowl and press out vegetables
9. Add liquid back to pot and bring to a simmer, add red bell peppers and cook ~ 5 minutes
10. Add bamboo shoots and peas cook another 5 minutes
11. Serve in a deep bowl layered as follows: Rice, Curry, Tofu.
12. Finish with cilantro and basil and lime.
13. Add Sriracha if heat is your thing (hint: it’s not mine)

And voila, a delicious meal that (if practiced in chopping skills) won’t take you too long.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

