Goings-on in my library world

It’s been just over a month since I’ve posted and that is because there has been a lot going on in my library world (and my world in general). Not ready to share some stuff but here are a few things I’ve done in the past month that I’m quite proud of:

1) Participated in World Book Night (April 23, 2013). My friend Jacqueline WayneGuite (who blogs at The HourGlass Files) wrote about handing out copies of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao last year, which brought this event to my attention. I was very disappointed I didn’t get to participate in 2012 so I subscribed to the e-mail list and followed them on Twitter to make sure I wouldn’t miss out this year.

It was a great experience. I picked up my books at the (almost 1 year old!) indie bookstore New Bo Books – who were thoughtful enough to provide one of their totes for lugging our copies around town. My book (my #1 choice) was Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris. I know from experience at my school that many people in my city are not familiar with David and his writing so I thought it would be a good chance to introduce them to something new.

Image

My original location was along a “dodgy” block – but my friends and a few of my students protested when I told them about my intended locale. So I hopped down a few more blocks to a slightly more respectable area (where there isn’t a supposed drug exchange spot). It was a cold stint in April and windy, but I walked up and down my blocks looking for people out and about and asked them if they would like a free book. Some people said no, but more said yes, and the looks on their faces indicated they really appreciated and/or anticipated what I might have to offer. I wish there was a way to get in touch with them now and find out if they really read the book and what they thought of (in my opinion) David’s best collection.

2) Presented at my first library conference.

A few weeks ago my state library association held their ACRL section spring conference and a colleague and I presented. We submitted our proposal back in February about teaching career-oriented students 21st century soft (or liberal arts) skills. I was very nervous because this was my first non-poster presentation but I think we did a very good job and it feels great to have an accomplishment like this under my belt. Furthermore, I look forward to presenting at conferences in the future. (Bonus: I had my first IRL meeting with Twitter friends!)

3) Broke out the 610-619 books in the library. Almost all of the classes we still offer on my campus are medical – health sciences, medical assisting, and nursing. However, most of the students don’t pay much attention to the print book collection, even though I’ve included faculty suggestions in my collection development. While my print collection is small, and it’s not hard (for me at least) to find a book on a topic I thought I would try to make it easier (and more obvious) to these students to find these books. So I have pulled out the books that fall in the 610-619 call numbers and moved them onto the shelves that previously held the reference books at the front of the library. I’m hoping it will be hard to ignore them now.

My only decision now is whether the interfile the remaining reference collection with the general collect ion or to retain it as a separate section. Thoughts? Experiences?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Goings-on in my library world

  1. My library has decided that interfiling the reference collection with everything else is a good idea, but we’re holding off on actually doing so until we know exactly what we want to do with the reference space instead. Otherwise we run the risk of the college deciding for us. 😉

Leave a Reply

